It does get easier!

Sitting here with a sleeping baby on my lap and enjoying every moment of it! We are just over 6 weeks now and finally seeing the light at the end of the newborn tunnel.

As much as I wanted this, as hard as I worked to get it, I was surprised to spend the first few weeks crying every day. A bad case of baby blues mixed with no sleep and a wide awake screaming baby just really beat me down emotionally. We had our good moments and I’ve been crazy in love with our little guy since day 1, but we were not prepared for the insanity of being first time parents. All those classes did not help! I feel like they purposefully neglected to mention how tough it is because they don’t want to scare the crap out of everyone. 

While we still have some trying moments, we are learning and getting better.  I haven’t cried in days! I can’t say the same for the baby, lol. 

  

10 thoughts on “It does get easier!

  1. Yay! I’m so happy for you you made it through the tough part and have such an amazing attitude. NO ONE is prepared for first time parenthood! And just because your baby was desperately wanted and such great measures went to bring him here, does not mean you are less entitled to the baby blues or crying fits, etc! Sounds like you know that. I went through it too, but heaped on another two months of feeling guilty that I had baby blues. Just skip all that, that’s my recommendation. 😊 It reaches a really magical point soon, usually once baby is sleeping in 4-5 hour stretches, where you are well rested enough to fully grasp the miracle you created. It’s impossible to see it when you aren’t sleeping at all! Congratulations on your gorgeous baby boy, he’s just too precious for words.

    • Thank you! He just had his first 5 hour sleep tonight and it was heavenly 🙂 It’s amazing what a little sleep can do for your mental state.

  2. What a beautiful photo!!! Glad at least one of your crying has stopped! Lol. I don’t think anything can really prepare is for what it wi really be like. I just keep thinking of all the women who have gone before me. If they can do it then so can I!!! Keep us posted when you can! ☺️

Leave a Reply

