Things just got serious – long appointments from here on out! – 36 and a half weeks

I’m just past 36 weeks and from here on out, due to my “advanced maternal age” and low Papp-A, looks like every Monday is going to be a very long appointment time! At least I can say I feel VERY well taken care of.

We started with fetal monitoring (the non-stress test, aka NST) and only had to be on that for 20 minutes because Keelan did what he needed to do. They want to see his heart rate accelerate when he moves and slow down when he’s resting. I got to recline in a chair with belts across my belly while an EKG machine recorded his movements. Then they gave me the belts to take home with me and bring back at every appointment.

Then we moved on to the ultrasound where they did all his measurements. They estimated his weight at 5.5 lbs. We didn’t get any pictures because he’s so crammed in there that it all just looks like a baby blob. The tech kept saying things like “look at his eye, and there’s a hand!” and me and S.P. were like…yeah…where?? I really wanted to see it, but he was curled in a ball as usual and I couldn’t tell what from what. She also pointed out he has a full head of hair already.

The ultrasound took a long time because he seemed content to stay curled up and rest after the NST excitement. They were looking for good movement and also for him to practice breathing. She said they only do the breathing thing every 30-40 min and he decided to take about that long before showing us he could do it.

He’s measuring in the 28th percentile so I immediately got worried that was too small, but the doc said he looks great. Not too big, not too small, just normal. So hooray for normal! Everything else is also functioning fine- placenta, fluids, umbilical cord. All good.

They also pointed out he is head down! So when I thought I felt him move over from my hip to front and center last week, I was right! He hasn’t fully dropped but is in position to do so.

After that we went to the OBGYN. My weight is good, though I’m still in shock I’m 174 lbs. I have no idea where it is all going because I don’t think I look too huge. (and I’m just going to keep telling myself that) I think my height gives it a lot of room to spread around. Everything else at the lab looked good too and for once I wasn’t low on iron.

I got my Group B strep swab, which wasn’t a big deal. Because it was described as a “vaginal and anal swab” I kept expecting a poke in the butt. I was happy to find out it was a quick swab, no speculum needed and then a quick run down the buttcrack that was barely noticeable. Now some of you are probably giggling but maybe some are relieved to find out nobody is poking them in the butthole. Pregnancy comes with enough weird stuff already, right?

They listened to his heartbeat again, the doc measured my belly and said everything looked good, and we were finally done. He also said if I went into labor, they would let it progress because he is far enough along, though it would be best if he stayed in for at least another week and a half until I reach 38 weeks.

The whole thing went from 12:30 – 4PM. Next time I’m packing snacks!

3 thoughts on “Things just got serious – long appointments from here on out! – 36 and a half weeks

  1. I remember those days. I always scheduled the NST when I knew baby was most active….which were moving times. The only good thing about the NST is that you have an idea how baby is doing and at least for me it at ease. So happy for you. You’re almost there

Leave a Reply

