Time to start the kick counting!

I’m in my 3rd trimester now and am supposed to start counting kicks. According to CountTheKicks.org: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) recommends that you note the time it takes to feel 10 kicks, jabs, turns, swishes, or rolls (not hiccups). A healthy baby should have 10 kicks in less than 2 hours. Most babies will take less than 30 minutes.

Some days I could get 10 kicks in 2 minutes. But sometimes I think I have a lazy baby. I feel maybe one kick an hour. And sometimes it feels like several hours before I feel something. During those times I freak out and run for the Doppler. However, the site (and many others) cautions against depending on the Doppler because by the time the heart slows or stops, it may be too late. So a baby in distress will sound just fine.

But here’s where the Doppler helps me out- my guy LOVES to kick it! Every time I get it out he will wake up and kick right where I’m pressing. Likewise, he goes absolutely bananas when they are pressing down on him with the ultrasound. So if I don’t notice kicks for a little while, and do not have the Doppler nearby, I just simulate the movement with my finger. I press down a little and try different spots on my belly. I can usually get a response in just a few minutes.

This evening I’m going to officially start the kick counting since he seems to be most active in the evenings when I’m relaxing after work. Hoping all goes well and he does his thing without too much prodding!

12 thoughts on “Time to start the kick counting!

  1. My baby doesn’t notice the doppler at all but it’s great that you can get your baby to kick by using that! I do agree that you may not notice a baby in distress from listening on the doppler. When my first baby was in distress, he sounded great most of the time, then he would dip and not come back up for ages.

    Good luck with the kick counting! I am at that stage now too and I put an app on my phone that keeps a log for me so I can compare stats from day to day. It’s pretty fun actually. 🙂

  2. I guess I was lazy…I never did the kick counting! She was so active that there was no doubt she was doing fine. Pretty sure I had internal bruising from the pounding she gave me on a daily basis 🙂 I wish I had known about the apps for this– I might have done that!

      • Oh yea I was definitely nervous the whole time (first pregnancy ended in miscarriage). But for some reason I knew Annabelle was strong. Probably because she made me so sick and beat me up! You definitely want to do whatever you can for peace of mind– kick counting and all!

Leave a Reply

