The silly thing that made me cry today

Just realized I know exactly how to hold a cat or dog snugly and secure in a multitude of ways but the minute I am handed a baby I get confused and awkward. I could probably hold a monkey better than I hold a baby. I Know, I know…it’s all supposed to come “naturally.” I feel like I’m waiting for a visit from the magical motherhood fairy. I have a lot to learn about furless babies.

Friends came over yesterday with their 4 month old baby. At one point I was handed the baby. I might as well been handed a squirming alien. It just felt SO weird and I had no idea what to do with it.

So while writing a Facebook post (that I deleted because I was a little embarrassed at my lack of maternal skills) I just busted out crying. Then I got upset that I was crying. I am lucky that it is the early AM and I am the only one up. I got up at 4AM because my back was hurting and then I got hungry and had to pee, so I just gave in and got up.

I really can’t wait to hold our little boy. I guess I just need to remind myself it may take some practice. I’ve been holding fur babies for 30-something years and yesterday was probably the first time in 10 years I’ve even held a human baby. I know it will be different because he will be mine so it won’t feel as weird… I hope πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “The silly thing that made me cry today

  1. I feel really awkward holding babies. When my sister comes over with my nieces i’d prefer to play with the toddler than hold the newborn. They are both adorable and i love them both equally. I was the same way with my nephew you when he was born.

  2. I feel INCREDIBLY awkward holding other peoples babies. And my mom runs a daycare, so its something I have done almost every day for pretty much my whole life. There’s something about being handed this precious irreplaceable thing that belongs to someone else that is just daunting! lol I imagine I would do the same thing if I were handed the hope diamond….

    Don’t feel bad, you aren’t alone! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

