23 Weeks, Maternity Tour and Fetal Echocardiogram

It’s been an exciting week as far as baby stuff goes. We made progress on the nursery, did our hospital maternity tour and had a fetal echocardiogram. The maternity tour was pretty cool, and talk about things “getting real!” I actually teared up twice during the tour when they were talking about spending time with the baby. The hospital is pretty new and everything is SO nice! The maternity suites are huge and you have the baby and stay in the same room. They also keep the baby with you as much as possible and encourage lots of skin-to-skin time.

Keelan showing off his early morning yoga moves

Keelan showing off his early morning yoga moves

Because IVF babies have a higher rate of heart defects and also my husband was born with a PFO (hole in the heart), earlier that day we went for the fetal echocardiogram. It’s a really long and detailed ultrasound, longer than the anatomy scan! They check everything about the heart and listen to individual valves. They also check and listen to the umbilical cord and make sure all the blood is pumping the right way. We got to watch our boy for a good 45 min., which was pretty awesome. And there was so much pushing on my belly that he started to push back hard enough to make me jump a few times. The ultrasound tech said she could feel him poking back at her. He was ALL over the place. It was crazy to see him stretching his legs over his head. The kid has some long legs! I had to pee so bad near the end I was trying to mentally communicate with him to stay still so she could get the measurements done. The diagnosis was all good- healthy looking heart and cord and everything measuring right on time.

How far along:  23 weeks

Weight gain: holy crap I weigh 150 lbs. – To give some perspective, I have been really tall and thin all my life. I am 5’9″ and usually weigh around 123. The fertility treatments made me pack on a few more pounds and for the past few years I hovered around 127-132. When I stepped on the scale at Publix and that needle shot over to the right and then settled right in the center I was shocked! But it’s all good and gaining weight is good for me and the baby so I don’t mind it one bit.

Maternity clothes: I love scrunchy side tops! I can’t stop from picking up a new one every time I stop by Target or any other place that has them.

Stretch marks: None yet, but I think that line down the belly is starting to show up a little.

Sleep: sleeping is great- I got a Snoogle pillow! Love that thing.

Best moment of this week: I really loved doing the hospital tour and also getting to see him again during the echocardiogram.

Miss anything: drinking in public. I have a few sips of red wine here and there at home, especially while cooking. I went on a holiday home tour that had food and drink samples in each location and I just felt too conspicuous to take any of the wine samples even though they were tiny sips.

Movement: lots of it and loving it. I’ve started playing with him if I don’t feel him move for a bit. I’m probably waking him up and pissing him off, lol. But I’ll start poking my belly and then after a minute he will poke back.

Food cravings: all the food! My appetite is in full swing.

Anything making you queasy or sick: pumpkin spice coffee creamer, which sucks because I LOVE pumpkin. I can use the regular creamer and be just fine, but if I try to go pumpkin spice, I throw up.

Have you started to show yet: so much that I’ve started resting my arms on my belly

Belly button in or out:  still in, but more of it is being exposed. My TUBA belly button scar is almost on the outside now.

Wedding rings on or off: on, but they did feel a little tight after I did the 13 house Christmas tour and walked all day. My feet hurt and my rings felt tight.

Happy or moody most of the time: happy with a dash of crazy worry. I can’t go in the baby room without getting incredibly excited and then scared and then excited.

Looking forward to: Pooping without wanting to cry. I’m guessing it’s the dreaded pregnancy hemorrhoids because it feels like razorblades. And I’m not having any trouble otherwise- no constipation or anything. I ordered some baby-safe butt stuff online and hope it arrives soon because it is literally a pain in the ass to go to the bathroom.

9 thoughts on “23 Weeks, Maternity Tour and Fetal Echocardiogram

  1. Glad the echo went well! I poke my baby to get him moving too & my hubs HATES when I do!!!! Haha! I just like to feel the kid move! 🙂

    • I was a little cautious at first, but that ultrasound tech really got him moving with the slow firm pokes so now I know how to make him move! I only feel a tiny bit bad, lol

Leave a Reply

