21 Week Update, Smooth Sailing

Well here we are at 21 weeks today. Just over half way there, O M G! At first it seemed time dragged as I hoped to make it past developmental and personal milestones, and now time is flying by. Like on warp speed. I have embraced all things baby and started collecting adorable cute things that make me tear up when I think of dressing him up in little shoes and onesies. My belly is growing and I love it. I splurged on new maternity wear that screams “I’m pregnant check out my fabulous bump.” Strangers are finally starting to notice and ask me things instead of staring quizzically at my belly trying to determine if I am indeed pregnant or just ate a big lunch.

How far along:  21 weeks

Weight gain: not sure, maybe 10 lbs overall? It’s all in the belly. People can’t seem to tell I’m pregnant yet unless they see me from the side. I am growing a basketball.

Maternity clothes: I splurged on black Friday at GAP and Old Navy. Unfortunately I had to return everything from the GAP, which is weird because I already had 2 pairs of their maternity pants and they fit great. The wrap dress I got fit great but looked cranberry on screen and was an ugly brown in person. I kept almost everything from Old Navy, but it was all tops and sweaters. All my regular tops are getting too short to wear with the maternity pants. Love those full panel styles but don’t want the panel showing!

Stretch marks: Nope. I really enjoy rubbing cream on my belly and massaging it in. I pretty much rub my belly all day anyway.

Sleep: Getting the best sleep of my life, minus the every two hour pee trips.

Best moment of this week: I had a great day yesterday because 3 people noticed my belly and asked me about it. I am all smiles and try not to get a little teary talking about it! Also people seem to like the fact I am 39. Two of them said it gives them hope they haven’t waited too long. (one was 35 and one was 37) I probably should have fessed up and said it was IVF, but honestly I just wanted to bask in the glory of being a normal pregnant person for a change and not get into the science of how I got that way.

My husband and I in our Wonderland outfits, that I won't be fitting into for a while!

My husband and I in our Wonderland outfits, that I won’t be fitting into for a while!

Miss anything: Being able to fit into my costumes. We are going to a Mad Hatter Ball at the museum for New Year’s Eve and I’m usually Alice, but there’s no way that’s going to fit! I have like 4 Alice costumes. So I’m going to do the White Queen and wear an empire waist white ball gown. I figure instead of just being a pregnant Alice it would be more fun to do a new character and dress like a queen. I already got myself a fancy tiara!

Movement: Full time movement has finally kicked in and this little guy is busy! Lots of kicks all day and he is starting to form a pattern where he’s busy in the morning and takes a break in the afternoon, then he likes to get going again around 7PM.

Food cravings: I don’t really crave anything, but I have been sneaking off the McDonalds more than usual. I’m usually a pretty healthy eater! But those fries…yum.

Anything making you queasy or sick: nope, finally! It feels so good not to be sick anymore. I get the occasional gag from my toothbrush but I can almost always brush my back teeth now without barfing.

Have you started to show yet: Showing more every day!

Belly button in or out:  still in. I inspect it every day for signs of an eventual pop.

Wedding rings on or off: on. I don’t have any swelling anywhere except my belly.

Happy or moody most of the time: happy! But if I read something sad or see something on the news or facebook, I cry so easily. It’s like, the saddest thing in the world!

Looking forward to: Our hospital tour in 2 weeks! It already feels real, but I’m sure that is going to take it up to a whole new level!

Leave a Reply

