17.5 Week Update and the return from the babymoon

water

The bump and the waterfall

Continuing in my sporadic update news, here we are at almost 18 weeks. Holy crap how did that happen? lol I just returned from a 4 day trip to the Smokey Mountains in North Carolina. Beautiful trees changing color everywhere! Got to stay in a cool log cabin with an amazing view. It wasn’t planned to be a “babymoon” but since it falls in my second trimester and I keep reading about these little pre-baby vacations, it fits the description. We went by car, which is a 6 hour trip, which ended up being an 8 hour trip thanks to a pee stop every hour. I have now peed my way up the coast and into the smokies!

How far along:ย  17 weeks , 5 days.ย  Wow!

Baby is the size of an: I think I read Onion somewhere. My husband’s “man app” says a pair of pliers

Total weight gain: 5-7 lbs, depends on whether it’s morning or night

Maternity clothes: I went and bought some really nice Ugg sweatpants and a matching jacket. So nice I won’t wear it around the house where it can get animal hair and dog snot all over it. These are “going out” sweats. Really, they are that nice.

Stretch marks: No though I’m starting to wonder how they show up. Like do you just wake up and they’re there? Or do they creep up on you and get darker?

Sleep: I have never slept so good in my life. I normally cannot fall asleep and I close my eyes and I’m out. It’s amazing! I get up to pee like 1o times but I go right back to sleep.

Best moment of this week:ย  I feel great! It’s so wonderful to feel good again. I have only puked a few times, and that’s a huge improvement over the daily heaving I was having. I think my best moment besides just feeling good was sharing the baby’s heartbeat with my husband’s parents. We brought the Doppler with us on vacation to keep my mind at ease. It was pretty cool to let them hear it.

Miss anything: I did feel a little left out when we were at a brewery and couldn’t enjoy all the local beers. I did sip a few to taste them. But it’s just not much fun hanging out in place everyone goes to drink when you can’t drink.

Movement: I think I felt something the last couple nights. This will move to “my best moment” as soon as I feel really confident it is a poke and not gas. I felt a little poke here and there and also what felt like a roll. There’s just so much stuff going on in my belly that I’m not sure. It has happened both evenings around 9PM when I’m sitting quietly for a bit and watching TV.

Food cravings: none really. I have more food aversions than cravings!

Anything making you queasy or sick: if I don’t eat soon enough I get sick, but I’ve always been like that.

Have you started to show yet: yes ๐Ÿ™‚

Gender:ย  still a boy, lol. Seems it’s about time to remove that question.

Belly button in or out:ย  in but getting a little stretched out. Please please let me have one of those flat ones!

Wedding rings on or off: on for work and public appearances only. Off the moment I walk in the door at home.

Happy or moody most of the time: happy! But the slightest thing will make me cry, both sad stuff and happy stuff. I almost nearly lost it and laughed for a good 10 minutes and was crying at the same time when my husband’s mom was reading US Weekly and asked who “Peter Dick Lunch” was. She has an irish accent and what she was actually saying was Peter Dinklage. Now I’m not going to be able to see his name without thinking that!

Looking forward to: the anatomy scan next Monday! also freaked out about anatomy scan on Monday! lol. The worry never stops. But I’m more leaning toward excited than worried. The only thing adding that dash of worry was the low Papp-A levels and that it can affect growth. I will be much relieved to hear that everything is measuring correctly.

Smokey Mountain view

Smokey Mountain view

 

8 thoughts on “17.5 Week Update and the return from the babymoon

  1. Oh my gosh, a man app?! Whats the name of it? I totally want to pitch it to my hubs… lol

    So glad you are feeling so awesome! It makes me feel like there is hope for the future haha ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. gorg! Happy babymoon! I am right there with you – trying to differentiate gas from baby movement! =) I can’t wait to feel this kiddo moving around!!

Leave a Reply

