15 Week Update, it’s a boy!

How far along:  15 weeks , 5 days.  Wow!

Baby is the size of an: Apple

Total weight gain: about 5 lbs. and it’s all belly.

Maternity clothes: I need to go shopping for some cute things!

Stretch marks: Nope

Sleep: Slept great last night! I get up to pee 20 times but fall right back asleep.

Best moment of this week:  Good doc appointment, heartbeat sounded good, etc. I didn’t get ultrasound though and want to see my little guy so bad! And they did the second half of my 1st trimester screen. I didn’t even know there was a second half. Looks like it screens for the same things- down syndrome, nueral tube defects, etc. So many screenings it seems. I asked about the low Papp A level results from my first screen and they just said I’ll be monitored more closely near the end and they’ll be keeping a close eye on my placenta, but it usually means nothing.

Miss anything: wondering if I’ll ever pee again without looking at the toilet paper. It’s such a habit now. And corsets! I miss wearing my corsets. It’s so easy to create a costume or make a dress fit by throwing on a corset. It’s my shop’s specialty. I even have my own private line. And now it’s weird trying to sell people corsets with my belly poking out. I always feel the need to tell them I’m pregnant so they aren’t like- “why isn’t she sucking in that pooch with a corset?” lol

Movement: the doc said I’ll start feeling something soon! I have felt some bubbles/popping sensations but am pretty sure they are gas. Mostly because they are followed by gas. lol. Doc said if you feel that and then nothing comes out the other end, that was movement.

Food cravings: I keep wanting Outback filet, baked potato and salad

Anything making you queasy or sick: I think my evening sickness switched over to random morning sickness, but it’s not too bad.

Have you started to show yet: oh god yes. I was trying to find something to wear for a Halloween party and put on a stretchy with dress and just looked hilarious. My lady lumps are all over the place, lol.

Gender: BOY! It’s a BOY! I am so excited! I always pictured myself with a little boy, I have no idea why. Everyone expected me to want a little girl to dress up because I own such a girlie boutique but the funny thing is, I only do the girlie thing when I dress up for events. I’m not girlie at all, lol. I never even liked pink when I was little, though it has grown on me now. Little girls are wonderful but I just think I can identify better with a boy.

Though I was looking forward to making some cute little frilly girlie costumes so I’m hoping to make some friends with little ones so I can make matching outfits for everyone. I also already have a bunch of cute boy costumes in my head that go with my costumes!

Labor signs: nope! But I do get these weird twinges almost like an electrical storm in my belly. There are so many weird feelings going on in there! Something new every day it seems.

Belly button in or out:  in, but I feel like I can see more of it as my belly grows. Like I can see inside of it and it looks smoother. I could just be imagining things because I keep staring at it for signs of popping out. Honestly, there is a Frankenstein looking stitch scar on the inside of that thing. I can clearly see it now! And to top it off, I used to have a belly ring so there is a hole at the top! It usually looks like a pretty good size hole but now it looks almost closed for the first time. So that’s actually a good thing. And one more thing- I think I have a couple new freckles/moles in there. There are 2 spots I thought were dirt and kept trying to clean off and they won’t budge. Why is there so much going on in one tiny place??

Wedding rings on or off: on for work and public appearances only. Off the moment I walk in the door at home.

Happy or moody most of the time: I have been pretty happy but the most random thing will make me tear up and cry! Like I started tearing up when writing about him being a boy because I was just thinking how damn cute he will be and he’ll look like a tiny version of my husband. I have nearly had to stop watching the news because some of the stories make me so sad and I can’t stop thinking about them, especially if it deals with animals. I sobbed uncontrollably when a police dog was killed!  But I also cry at happy things. I was watching a Modern Family re-run and cried my eyes out when Phil surprised Claire with a vow renewal in Hawaii. My husband and I did that on our 4th anniversary after he returned from a tour in Iraq and it was the sweetest thing ever.  And for godsakes I’m actually crying now while typing and have to go blow my nose.

Looking forward to: the 3D/4D ultrasound I scheduled for next week! I didn’t want to wait another month. And this will be just past 16 weeks so we should get visual confirmation he’s a boy. Just being told is one thing, but I wanna SEE! I am so excited to see him looking like a real baby. Those 3D ultrasounds are kind of creepy looking but I still can’t wait 🙂

 

13 thoughts on “15 Week Update, it’s a boy!

    • and those were exact words! lol. And I was like…oh, well it DOES keep coming out the other end so I guess it not movement yet. But I can say I’ve never really felt the gas bubbles like that in my belly before so it’s still weird!

    • thank you! I’ve been following your blog so I know you are not a big fan of the generic weekly update, lol. I’ve been sporadic about them because I want to have something interesting to write about! I’m starting to have a boring uneventful week here and there but that’s a good thing 😉

    • I know how you feel! That’s why I had to go pay for one. I think the fertility treatments spoiled me with all those weekly ultrasounds at first. My husband was so disappointed when they just did the doppler at the 16 week check-up. He was like- we can do that at home!

Leave a Reply

