Moving out of the first trimester

I’ve read a bunch of conflicting opinions about the end of the first trimester date, stating anywhere from 12 to 14 weeks. Well I’ve always thought 12 was the magic number so we’re going with that. I hit 12 weeks today!

I’d be more excited if I didn’t feel like absolute crap and spent most of the morning wondering which end stuff would shoot out of next. For two days I’ve been having horrible gas pains which are scary as hell because they feel like cramps! But then it turns into a burp/fart-a-thon and it goes away.  I still throw up once or twice a day. Yesterday I was running errands and had to be “that person” that blows up the bathroom. I’d rather be throwing up in public because at least you can be like “I’m pregnant” and then people are like “Aw, but congrats!” But if you are just dropping bombs in the bathroom then yelling out “I’m pregnant” doesn’t make you any less offending.

And I don’t look pregnant yet so people can’t tell. I have belly envy of obviously pregnant women. I’m at that stage where I look like I might have started letting myself go and my middle is getting fat but the rest of me hasn’t caught up yet. My mom told me she didn’t look pregnant until 8 months so she constantly wore a shirt that said “Baby” with an arrow pointing at her belly so people wouldn’t think she was fat. I may need to invest in some t-shirts.

I can’t wait to feel good and really embrace this pregnancy! I’m optimistic about getting through this rough stuff. It would be easier if my grandmother would stop telling me about how she threw up until the day right before my dad was born. I thought all the fertility drugs were rough but man pregnancy is no joke. At least there’s no needles involved!

On the up side of course is that it is all for a good cause and every puke is worth it. I finally got the doppler working after reading everyone’s comments and tips. I started low and kind of rocked it while pushing down and found the heartbeat in under a minute. I totally cried. I was so relieved and happy.  And later that evening after my husband came home, I found it for him just as fast. He wanted to make a video of it, but I told him to wait until we could hear it without me practically having to take my pants off, lol.

And while I don’t want to be a whiny pregnant person, and every day even through the sickness I am thankful for reason behind it, I do need to post and get it out. This is my personal outlet. I can’t post on facebook about my belly issues but here I can share and you guys can giggle and move on without me running into you on the street and having you ask me about my intestinal distress.

 

4 thoughts on “Moving out of the first trimester

  1. Don’t feel bad about the whining. RPL/IF people are human, too. We can’t pretend it’s all rainbows and roses when it ain’t. I have such bad hip and back pain when I wake up first thing in the morning, I basically cry every time! Pregnancy is not a breeze for everyone, and pretending it is is just silly.

    I’m sorry you’re so pukey. I got quite close a couple times, but I was one of those “lucky” people that never threw up. I just felt nauseous 24/7. 😉

    By the way, don’t get your hopes up about the 2nd trimester (which I considered 13w, but everyone interprets it differently, it’s kind of ridiculous that there isn’t a damn standard, am I right?!) and nausea. Mine has made additional cameo appearances after 14w! Including yesterday, and I was 17w1d. 😛

    Grow, baby, grow! ❤

    • *sigh* today I was sitting on the toilet trying to decide which end it was going to come shooting out of and then just started crying for no reason. Then started laughing at how ridiculous I was. Good thing I was the only one home! Unfortunately I seem to be surrounded by friends who just have wonderful glowy things to say about their sickness-free pregnancies. I am wondering if maybe they forgot about a rough first trimester because it got so wonderful they blocked it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

