Cloud 9 in a Heartbeat

I was so nervous going in to today’s ultrasound appointment that I could hear my heart thumping in my chest. It was like my head was pulsating. I was worried the nurse would think there was something wrong with my blood pressure. She said nothing as she wrote down my stats and asked me some questions-

The date of my LMP. My date of birth. Was the pregnancy spontaneous?

WTF?

I told her it was about as UN-spontaneous as you can get!

I relaxed a little as my husband and I laughed over the questions. The minutes dragged on as I sat there pantsless, wearing my fancy lavender napkin, staring at the blank ultrasound screen every few seconds.

The ultrasound tech warned us at 6 weeks 2 days, there may not be much to see and there may not be a heartbeat. They were just checking to see if anything was there and that it implanted in the right spot. As soon as she stuck the wand in, we saw a big blob and then that blob had a little pulsating light on it. Before she said anything I knew I was seeing a heartbeat and I almost started crying right then and there. I managed to reign it in because I didn’t want any my torso heaving with happy sobs while she continued to root around in my insides checking out uterus size and taking measurements. She said everything looked perfect!

Seeing that little beating heart made it all so much more real for me. For both of us. We are on cloud 9, with another hurdle cleared.

I’ll be going back once a week until week 9 or 10 and then they release me into the wild. Or to a regular OB, whatever you want to call it šŸ™‚

baby

31 thoughts on “Cloud 9 in a Heartbeat

  1. Congratulations!!!!!! This is so exciting!! You are just two days ahead of me! Ah! I have to wait until 8 weeks for my ultrasound though. But I am so thrilled for you!!!!

      • I agree, I have tried to wiggle my way into the office earlier & they aren’t budging. Oh well. It is less then 2 weeks now! I think the holiday weekend will help as well!

  2. Ahhhhh!! This is amazing! Congratulations lovely, you really deserve a happy outcome. And think about this, now that you’ve seen a heartbeat, the risk of miscarriage drops A LOT! So now you can let yourself relax a little bit šŸ™‚ this is seriously so amazing, I’m really happy for you šŸ™‚

  3. I can only imagine how emotional that must feel!! Puts a smile on my face!! Your baby looks beautiful! šŸ™‚ I love how you described it “As soon as she stuck the wand in, we saw a big blob and then that blob had a little pulsating light on it.” so cute!

Leave a Reply

