If things go well…and other phrases I’m beginning to hate

Women get pregnant every day, but I wonder how many have to use a disclaimer every time they talk about their pregnancy and anything involving the future? Things like:

* If things go well

* If things proceed as planned

* If this works out

* It’s early but…

I went blindly into my first one, picking out names, buying pregnancy books, telling everyone before the pee even dried on the stick. Then it all came crashing down and along with it, my ignorant optimism.

I look forward to being able to speak about my pregnancy without a disclaimer (if all goes well of course…haha)

But in other news, I have this to lift me up today!3plus

It is right on time at 6 weeks 1 day! And that is one thing I can say positively without any preemptive warnings πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “If things go well…and other phrases I’m beginning to hate

  1. I’m 11w4d today and I still use those phrases. I honestly felt like I was reading my own thoughts when I read those first few paragraphs. I was just talking to my mom today about how we want to tell my brother and his girlfriend next weekend…*if things go well, if things work out* at the NT scan tomorrow and the heartbeat appointment on Friday. I hate that we have to say these things.

    But congrats on the 3+! That is a good sign. πŸ™‚ Hang in there, girlie. ❀

    • It sucks! Makes you scared to do anything remotely future baby related. Hoping to ease up on the disclaimers a tiny bit after today’s ultrasound. If all goes well of course. arrgh!

  2. I’m afraid those thoughts don’t seem to go away. I’m currently 14w4d and still use at least one of those phrases before any baby related conversation. Huge congrats on the 3+. That’s a great sign that things are going in the right direction x

    • Still at 14w? oh man. I was hoping to be disclaimer-free by 12 weeks. But I can see that won’t happen because as soon as I typed that my mind went “if things are going smoothly by then.” It must be some kind of IF mental sickness, lol :-/

  3. I totally understand the disclaimers… I was set on that too… I wasn’t going to tell anyone, not even family until we were 3 months pregnant etc… but recently, I’ve decided that I’m going to jump in blindfolded and head first! I’m going to embrace the vulnerability of not having any certainty and we’ll see where that takes me… This is really unlike me! LOL

  4. I do totally understand the “if” statements. They’re pretty painful in their own way – it’s like reminding yourself constantly of how easy it would be for everything to come tumbling down. Here’s a true “if” statement: IF ONLY we could have enough faith to not worry, I’m sure we’d do ourselves a favour.

Leave a Reply

