You want me to put it where? An estradiol experience.

After many many tests all last month, we got our fertility evaluation and greenlight for IVF. The journey begins with a prescription for estradiol, which is supposed to improve the living conditions in my uterus. The doctor tells me to take 1 pill twice a day, vaginally.

This is where I stop him and ask with a tinge of shock,”Um, is it, like uhhh quick dissolving or something?” He tells me no, it will probably take an hour. I say ok and then imagine panties filled with pill crumbles for the next month.

I drop off my prescription and think nothing of it until I get a message later that day:

“Mrs. K, we have an issue filling your prescription. We’ve called the doctor and their office is closed. We will have to fill it tomorrow.”

I panic because I am supposed to start that day and about to leave town that evening. I’m anxious to get this show on the road! So I ask what the problem is.

“Well, the instructions say to take this vaginally but this is an oral drug. We were baffled by this and can’t understand why.” I feel the heat rise to my cheeks and explain, “Yes, those were his instructions. To be honest, my doc is a bit of an oddball. I thought it was really weird myself but that’s what he said to do, just break it in half and stick it in there twice a day.”

She leaves to go consult with the pharmacist and he gives the ok. By now I’m pretty mortified and consider myself branded as “the girl who sticks pills in her hoo-ha.” So I scoot in and out of there as quickly as possible to pick them up later that day.

Of course as soon as I got home I googled this whole vaginal estradiol method and the explanation seemed pretty legit- instead of it dissolving in your stomach and making it way to where it needs to be, you are just sticking there already. A lot of people said it was much more effective this way. I guess we’ll see at the end of the month!

My next step is to call the nurse on cycle day 1. Then I start 2 weeks of birth control pills and a whole lot of crazy shots and drugs.

You've got to be kidding me...

You’ve got to be kidding me…

 

 

Leave a Reply

